Let’s Talk About Being Baptist…

I spent a large part of this past fall traveling around Texas to different cities, listening to what young adults had to say about being Baptist. I was encouraged in many ways with what they had to say about being Baptist, about engaging the world for Christ.

I am sold on being Baptist. For me, the freedom which we hold dear, which we early on fought for both for ourselves and equally for others, is what continues to connect me to Baptist life. We are a messy, dissenting bunch. But it is because we value each person’s voice (ideally), knowing that God may be speaking through them. I like congregational church governance. I can’t see any other way of ‘doing’ church- committees, messiness and all.

So it pains me when I see Baptists, young and old, trying to ‘pretend’ they aren’t really Baptist. Or they down play it. The debate over whether to include ‘Baptist’ in the church name may seem nominal, but I think it gets at the core of the principles of church- in Baptist life, our polity reflects our theology. Institutional memory is very short, and I can see it taking less than a generation for a church to forget ‘where it came from’ once Baptist is removed from the name. The distinctive of voluntary cooperation among churches is brilliant- there is so much power, and yet freedom, in joining together to put resources to use more effectively for the Kingdom. And b/c we have local church autonomy, we can therefor

Phillip Wise, pastor of Second Baptist Church in Lubbock, eloquently gets to the heart of the ethics of having Baptist in the name of your church, and what that represents, in the most recent issue of the Baptist Standard. The question posed was:

Our church is talking seriously about sponsoring a new congregation in our area. But we seem headed for a meltdown. Several folks insist “Baptist” must be kept out of the name of the new church. Surely there are moral grounds for requiring a Baptist church to include “Baptist” in its name.

An excerpt from Rev. Wise’s response:

However, there are some ethical issues connected with a church’s name and its denominational identity. First, it is unethical to have “Baptist” in your name and not really be a Baptist church. Of course, there are many issues about which Baptists disagree. However, there are some issues that are non-negotiable. You cannot claim to be a Baptist and not believe in and practice these fundamental Baptist tenets. For example, if a church does not allow all members to participate in decision-making, then it cannot be a Baptist church—regardless of its name.

But the paragraph that really struck me, given the uncertainty with which many in my generation approach being Baptist:

Third, it is embarrassing and sad that many Baptists now feel the name “Baptist” has been soiled. There are many kinds of Baptists, and no church can agree with every stripe of Baptist. Nevertheless, “Baptist” is an honorable name, and I am happy and proud the church I serve kept “Baptist” in its name. I believe true Baptists should live in ways that will help redeem the name.

So, lets talk about being Baptist- what are your thoughts? Is your church struggling with this issue?  Should they be?

Explore posts in the same categories: Baptist, Baptist Distinctives

6 Comments on “Let’s Talk About Being Baptist…”

  1. Steve Says:

    I’m really glad you posted this story, because it gets to the heart of many questions I have about being Baptist. Maybe someone can clarify for me.

    I don’t understand how we can claim that one Baptist distinctive is congregational autonomy (meaning that no outside body instructs a church in congregational matters) while Dr. Wise can seriously claim that if you have the word “Baptist” in your church name, then you must embrace democratic/congregational polity. Isn’t that impossible given the distinctive of congregational autonomy? How can he (or anyone) tell me that it’s more or less Baptist to run my church in any particular manner? By doing so isn’t he infringing on my distinctive of congregational autonomy?

    This congregational polity question ties into another Baptist distinctive, as well—that of biblical authority. If one of our Baptist distinctives is that we allow the Bible to lead and guide our decision making and form our church, what do we do if/when a church reads and approaches the Scripture with the leadership of the Holy Spirit and sees little/no support of democratic polity in the New Testament? Incidentally, I see no records of voting, constitutions, by-laws, or committees in the New Testament. So if a church chooses to interpret the NT as employing elders and deacons as congregational leaders in response to the Bible’s authority, how can a person outside that congregation honestly critique without infringing on congregational autonomy?

    I have been struggling with these questions now for about seven years. Any clarification would be welcome.

  2. furtherupfurtherin Says:

    For what it’s worth, here are my thoughts on the issue:

    In response to Steve:

    You are right on with your comments on congregational autonomy. But, Dr. Wise’s piece in the Baptist Standard was just a Q&A in our BGCT paper. Nothing binds any other Baptist or any church to accept or adhere to Dr. Wise’s take on the issue. To me, our distinctives of Soul Competency, Priesthood of the Believer, and local church autonomy are all at work in the issue as we corporately and individually discern our thoughts on this and other issues.

    Now the issue of Biblical Authority. Again, to the best of my knowledge, no churches have been cast out of fellowship with any Baptist body because they chose to have elders instead of deacons. Our Baptist Distinctives don’t lie in commitees, deacons, elders, councils, business meetings or any other sanctioned method of governance. Our Baptist discintive is Congregational Church governance. Meaning the the congregation is capapble and responsible to govern its own affairs. Through popular practice and now tradition, Deacons, committee structure, and business meetings have been the primary conduit for practicing Congregational church governance. This is not to say they are infallible and the only way to enact right and responsibility of churh members to govern and direct the Kingdom work of their local church.

    Yet, I maintain the right to critique any church because of these same distinctives. But, I, or Dr. Wise, or anyone else do not have the right to infringe upon your churches decision unless I become a member of your church.


  3. Steve,

    If a church under the guidance of the Holy Spirit were to determine that there is little/no support of democratic polity in the New Testament, why would that church insist on keeping Baptist on the name out front? I’m sure your scenario has occured many many times over the years. But I’d be willing to guess that 99.99% of the time, the church that rejects the democratic polity joins up with another Christian denomination or just drops the Baptist tag. On the other hand, I KNOW that many churches embrace in theory the distinctive of a democratic church polity yet their church operates in a very, very undemocratic way.

    With the popular phrase – No Baptist Speaks For Another Baptist – in mind, I see Dr. Wise speaking for himself and himself alone in this column. While a belief in a particular Baptist distinctive like freedom of conscience or church-state separation does not make a person a Baptist, it is hard to believe that one could be a Baptist and not cling tenaciously to those baptistic doctrines and distinctives. I think Dr. Wise would concur.

  4. Ken Martin Says:

    Being a Baptist? Come on, most church members are asleep, Baptist or otherwise…but because Baptist is closest to what the Bible teaches in doctrine, then we should be ashamed we have allowed such hollow self-adoring worship in our churches. I don’t know if you have read that new book sweeping around in fundamental circles, but “Seven Trumpets” will open your eyes. We just don’t have long left. I even found the author’s website (seventrumpets.net) and wow…absolutely incredible. If you don’t read another book this year (no, you should ALWAYS be reading your Bible), you just have to check that book out.

    K. Martin


  5. I happened to be surfing and saw Mr Martin’s comment about my book, Seven Trumpets. Thank you, sir, for the kind words. And yes, I believe everything I said on my site. If we as Christians do not wake up very soon, we are going to be ashamed at the coming of our Lord. We certainly are a Laodicean Church today, with the exception of a few fireballs left out there.

    I do not promote my book aggressively, because my purpose was simply to leave a book that hopefully will be picked up by some poor soul in the tribulation…I believe the King James Bible, at least, will be banned…and I wanted to have a platform to present the true Gospel to the lost.

    If you are a Christian reading this, I plead with you…REDEEM THE TIME that you have right now…because it will be ending shortly, and we will stand before our Lord with blood on our hands if we fail to warn those in our sphere of influence!

    God bless you, Mr. Martin, for the compliment. If anyone wants to reach me, you can do so at my email…clintonaveach@clintonaveach.com.

    Clinton A. Veach
    Author: Seven Trumpets


  6. The style of writing is quite familiar . Did you write guest posts for other bloggers?


Leave a comment